Laws Pertaining to Sexting in the State of Arkansas

ArkansasArkansas does not have a statute that addresses sexting between minors. Currently, in Arkansas a person - regardless of age - who creates, distributes or possesses an image of a minor engaged in a sexually explicit act may be prosecuted under the State’s child pornography laws and if convicted, may receive jail time and will generally be required to register as a sex offender.

Legislative Summary

Arkansas has not created a separate statute for sexting crimes. Therefore, a minor who is caught creating, distributing, or possessing a sexually explicit image of another minor could be charged with a felony under the State’s child pornography statutes. If the minor is convicted of a felony they could receive jail time and will generally be required to register as a sex offender.

Law and Punishment

In general, under Arkansas law it is a felony to:

  • Knowingly produce, direct or promote any material that contains a child (under the age of 17) engaged in a sexual act.
    • If convicted, an individual could face up to 30 years in prison.
  • Knowingly posses or view any material of a child (under the age of 17) engaged in a sexual act.
    • If convicted, an individual could face up to 10 years in prison.
  • Knowingly advertise, sell, distribute, transport, display, or receive with the intent to sell or distribute any material that contains a minor engaged in a sexually explicit activity or knowingly solicit, receive, purchase, exchange, possess, view, distribute or control any material depicting a child (under the age of 17) engaged in a sexual act.
    • If convicted, an individual could face up to 10 years in prison.
  • Uses or coerces a child (under the age of 17) into creating or participate in material that contains a minor engaged in a sexually explicit activity.
    • If convicted, an individual could face up to 30 years in prison.

If convicted of a felony an individual would generally need to register as a sex offender.

sobering reality

Separate felony convictions for possession, distribution or creation .

Up to 30 years in jail for creating child pornography.

Up to 10 years in jail for possessing or distributing child pornography.

Register as a sex offender.

The information contained herein is intended only as a reference to the subject matter covered and the contents herein are not to be relied on as legal advice or legal opinion. Please contact your legal advisor for any legal advice or legal opinions. Furthermore, the content and information on this page is copyrighted material to the extent such material is not an excerpt from the law itself. Any use or reproduction of such material is strictly prohibited without the expressly written approval of Parental Solutions LLC. If you are a member of the media and wish to discuss the content contained herein or otherwise on the Mobile Media Guard website, please feel free to contact us to schedule a call.