Laws Pertaining to Sexting in the Commonwealth of MA
Currently, in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts any person who creates, distributes or possesses a sexually explicit image of a minor is committing a crime and is subject to prosecution under the State’s child pornography laws. The Commonwealth did try to pass strong sexting laws under the Commonwealth’s obscenity laws but such law was challenged by the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) and a federal judge subsequently ruled the law to be over broad and issued an injunction to prevent the Commonwealth from enforcing the law.
The Massachusetts legislature enacted legislation under the Commonwealth’s obscenity law that was intended to address the sexting issue. However, the law was declared to be overly broad by a federal judge. Therefore, currently in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, a minor caught sexting images of other minors or images of themselves could be prosecuted under Massachusetts’ child pornography laws. In addition, anyone over the age of 18 who is caught possessing an explicit image of a minor, even if the minor voluntarily delivered it to the adult, could also be prosecuted under Massachusetts’ child pornography laws.
Law and Punishment
In general, under Massachusetts’ child pornography statute it is a felony to:
- Entice, solicit, coerce or encourage a minor (including solicitation through sexting) to pose or be exhibited in a state of nudity for the purpose of representation or reproduction in an image. Conviction under this provision carries 10 to 20 years in prison, and a $10,000 to $50,000 fine.
- Disseminate or distribute (e.g., forwarding a text message) material that contains the exhibition of a minor in a sexually explicit manor. Conviction under this provision carries 10 to 20 years in prison, and a $10,000 to $50,000 fine.
- Possess an image of a minor engaged or simulating a sexually explicit act. Conviction under this provision carries up to 5 years in prison or 2.5 years in jail and a fine of $1000 to $10,000 for a first offense.
- A conviction under the statute would require the offender to register as a sex offender.
Up to 20 years in jail.
Up to a $50,000 fine.
Register as a sex offender.
Latest News Concerning Sexting in Massachusetts
CBS Boston | June 20, 2012
Patch.com | May 15, 2012
WSLS NBC 10 | June 24, 2011
The Patriot Ledger | May 14, 2011
The Daily News | April 24, 2011
WBUR | March 29, 2011
The Boston Globe | February 28, 2011
The Boston Globe | January 18, 2010
The information contained herein is intended only as a reference to the subject matter covered and the contents herein are not to be relied on as legal advice or legal opinion. Please contact your legal advisor for any legal advice or legal opinions. Furthermore, the content and information on this page is copyrighted material to the extent such material is not an excerpt from the law itself. Any use or reproduction of such material is strictly prohibited without the expressly written approval of Parental Solutions LLC. If you are a member of the media and wish to discuss the content contained herein or otherwise on the Mobile Media Guard website, please feel free to contact us to schedule a call.