Laws Pertaining to Sexting in the State of Washington
Currently, Washington State does not a have a specific statute for sexting offenses. In general, anyone - regardless of age - who produces, distributes or possesses an image of a minor engaged in a sexually explicit act may be prosecuted under the State’s child pornography laws and if convicted, may be incarcerated and will generally be required to register as a sex offender.
Under Washington law, individuals who distribute, produce or possess a sexually explicit image of a minor could be charged with a felony under the State’s child pornography statutes. If the individual convicted they could receive up to 10 years in jail as well as be required to register as a sex offender.
Law and Punishment
In general, under Washington law it is a criminal offense to knowingly:
- Develop, duplicate, publish, print, disseminate, exchange, finance, attempt to finance, or sell any image that depicts a minor engaged in an act of sexually explicit conduct; or
- Possess with intent to develop, duplicate, publish, print, disseminate, exchange, or sell any visual or printed matter that depicts a minor engaged in an act of sexually explicit conduct is guilty of a class C felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
- Distribute image that depicts a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct is guilty of a class C felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.
- Possess an image depicting a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct is guilty of a class B felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine.
- A person who, in the course of processing or producing visual or printed matter either privately or commercially, has reasonable cause to believe that the visual or printed matter submitted for processing or producing depicts a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct has a duty to immediately report such incident, or cause a report to be made, to the proper law enforcement agency. Persons failing to do so are guilty of a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in jail and/or a $5,000 fine.
If a person is convicted of a felony sex crime then they will generally be required to register as a sex offender.
Separate felony convictions for creation, distribution or possession.
Up to 10 years in jail.
Up to $20,000 fines.
Registration as a sex offender.
Latest News Concerning Sexting in Washington
Kirotv.com | May 11, 2012
KIMATV.com | May 8, 2012
NWCN.com | May 7, 2012
KVUE ABC | March 29, 2012
Seattle Times | March 29, 2012
Seattle Times | March 21, 2012
ABC 13 | February 7, 2012
Bellingham Herald | November 24, 2011
KIMA TV CBS | October 9, 2011
The Spokesman-Review | June 1, 2011
NWCN | May 23, 2011
KXLY | March 12, 2011
KHQ | March 2, 2011
The Seattle Times | June 7, 2010
The Seattle Times | January 29, 2010
KATU | May 18, 2009
The National Ledger | December 6, 2008
The information contained herein is intended only as a reference to the subject matter covered and the contents herein are not to be relied on as legal advice or legal opinion. Please contact your legal advisor for any legal advice or legal opinions. Furthermore, the content and information on this page is copyrighted material to the extent such material is not an excerpt from the law itself. Any use or reproduction of such material is strictly prohibited without the expressly written approval of Parental Solutions LLC. If you are a member of the media and wish to discuss the content contained herein or otherwise on the Mobile Media Guard website, please feel free to contact us to schedule a call.